GUNMAPUSA Search

Montana Concealed Carry Permit

Montana allows permitless carry for non-prohibited adults 18+. A CWP is still available and is what other states recognize.

Permitless carry is legal in Montana

A non-prohibited adult aged 18 or older may carry a concealed handgun without a permit (since 2021). YES - no permit is needed to carry a concealed firearm in Montana. Verified 2026-09-15 against the current official text of MCA 45-8-316 (Montana Code Annotated 2025 edition): subsections (1) and (2) create the concealed-carry offense, and subsection (3) reads in full: 'This section does not apply to a person eligible to possess a firearm under state or federal law.' The statute's history line confirms the subsection came from HB 102, Ch. 3, L. 2021 ('amd. Sec. 9, Ch. 3, L. 2021'), which also repealed the old exceptions statute MCA 45-8-317. The Montana DOJ's own page states: 'Montana law allows any person to conceal carry a weapon without a concealed weapon permit, so long as that person is eligible to possess a firearm under state or federal law.' This applies to residents and non-residents alike, and the DOJ page repeats it verbatim under its 'Non-Residents' heading. IMPORTANT LIMITS on permitless carry: MCA 45-8-356 protects holders of a 45-8-321 (standard) permit, a 45-8-312 (enhanced) permit, or an out-of-state permit recognized under 45-8-329 from state and local restriction 'anywhere in the state' subject to 8 enumerated exceptions; a permitless carrier does NOT get that protection. Specifically, MCA 45-8-328(1) makes it an offense - punishable under (2) by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a $500 fine - to carry a concealed weapon in 'portions of a building used for state or local government offices and related areas in the building that have been restricted,' and it exempts only 'a person issued a permit pursuant to 45-8-321 or 45-8-312 or a person recognized pursuant to 45-8-329.' MCA 45-8-351(2)(a) also lets a county, city, town or other local unit 'prevent and suppress the carrying of unpermitted concealed weapons or the carrying of unconcealed weapons to a publicly owned and occupied building under its jurisdiction.' Courtrooms and court-controlled areas, and school buildings under MCA 45-8-361, are off limits, as are federal buildings, military reservations, TSA checkpoints, correctional/detention/treatment facilities, and private property where the owner, possessor, tenant or lessee expressly prohibits firearms (all per 45-8-356(1)-(8)). Carrying concealed while under the influence of an intoxicating substance is a separate offense under MCA 45-8-327, which states expressly: 'It is not a defense that the person had a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon.' The 18 minAge shown here is the practical floor for a concealed HANDGUN, derived from federal 18 U.S.C. 922(x) rather than from any express age in 45-8-316 - see uncertainties.

Getting the permit anyway is still worth it for most people: other states recognize the permit, not your residency, so without one you generally cannot carry across state lines.

MCA 45-8-316(3)

There are 11 details on this page we could not confirm from a primary source. Read what they are before relying on this.

Requirements at a glance

Permit name Concealed Weapon Permit
Issuing authority County sheriff of the applicant's county of residence (Montana Department of Justice keeps the central repository of permits and publishes the AG's recognized-states list)
System shall-issue
Minimum age 18 — STANDARD PERMIT: MCA 45-8-321(1) requires the applicant to be a U.S. citizen or permanent lawful resident 'who is 18 years of age or older,' and the statutory application form in MCA 45-8-322(1) asks '18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER.' The Montana DOJ page confirms 18, and the DOJ's own sample application PDF carries the same '18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER' line. The age-18 threshold is longstanding, not new: an Internet Archive capture of the official MCA page for 45-8-321 taken 2022-09-01 (then the Montana Code Annotated 2021 edition, i.e. before the 2023 session) already read 'who is 18 years of age or older.' ENHANCED PERMIT: the OPTIONAL enhanced permit under MCA 45-8-312 (enacted 2023, Ch. 526) requires age 21 under 45-8-312(3)(b), but 45-8-312(15)(a) directs the sheriff to issue a 'temporary restricted enhanced permit' clearly designated as such to a qualifying applicant aged 18 to 20, and 45-8-312(15)(b) lets the holder convert it to an unrestricted enhanced permit 'at no additional cost' on written request to the sheriff once the holder has reached 21.
Training required Yes
State fee $50 initial / $25 renewal — the state's own charge, not the total
Valid for 5 years
Processing time STANDARD PERMIT: the sheriff must issue within 60 days after the application is filed (MCA 45-8-321(1): 'A county sheriff shall, within 60 days after the filing of an application, issue a permit'). A decision to deny a RENEWAL must also be made within 60 days (MCA 45-8-323: 'A decision to deny an applicant a renewal must be made within 60 days after the filing of an application'). ENHANCED PERMIT: MCA 45-8-312(4)(c) requires the sheriff, 'after receiving satisfactory background check results and verification that an applicant has met the requirements of subsection (2)(c)(i) or (2)(c)(ii) and subsection (3), [to] issue a permit clearly designated as enhanced within 60 days after the filing of the application' - so the 60-day clock for the enhanced permit runs from filing but is conditioned on the fingerprint-based state, national and international background checks coming back.
Fingerprints Not required
Non-resident permit Not available

What it actually costs

The state fee is rarely the whole bill. Fingerprinting is usually charged by a private vendor, training is bought from an instructor, and several states add photographs, notarisation or other requirements on top.

State fee $50
Training course $75–$250 (private instructor)
Sheriff fingerprinting $5 — MCA 45-8-322(4), only where the sheriff requires prints, and not repeated at renewal
Optional enhanced permit $75 — MCA 45-8-312(11), paid to the county sheriff, who forwards part to the Department of Justice for background checks and fingerprinting. This is instead of, not in addition to, the $50 standard permit fee if you apply only for the enhanced permit; the enhanced permit also requires a 98-round live fire course, which costs more than the standard permit's familiarity proof.
Realistic total $125–$305

THESE COST FIGURES ARE FOR THE STANDARD MCA 45-8-321 PERMIT. MCA 45-8-322(3) sets $50 for the permit and $25 for each four-year renewal, and MCA 45-8-322(4) lets the sheriff add $5 if fingerprints are taken. Montana sets no hour count and no live-fire requirement for the standard permit: MCA 45-8-321(3) accepts any one of several proofs, among them a hunter education or safety course run by Fish, Wildlife and Parks - which a great many Montana applicants completed years ago, at no cost attributable to this permit, so the low end of the training range can in practice be $0. The optional enhanced permit under MCA 45-8-312 is a separate $75 and additionally requires a law-enforcement-approved handgun course including at least 98 rounds of live fire within the preceding 12 months, so its realistic all-in cost is higher than the range shown here; the statute names no enhanced renewal fee.

THE initial AND renewal FIGURES ABOVE, AND THE validityYears VALUE OF 5, DESCRIBE THE STANDARD MCA 45-8-321 PERMIT - NOT THE ENHANCED PERMIT. MCA 45-8-322(3), verified verbatim 2026-09-15: 'The fee for issuance of a permit is $50. The permit must be renewed for additional 4-year periods upon payment of a $25 fee for each renewal and upon request for renewal made within 90 days before expiration of the permit with a 30-day grace period after the expiration.' The same subsection ends: 'Replacement of a lost permit must be treated as a renewal under this subsection' (so a replacement costs $25). NOTE THE TERM ASYMMETRY: the STANDARD permit's INITIAL term is 5 years (MCA 45-8-321(1): 'The permit is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance'), while each RENEWAL runs 4 years under 45-8-322(3) - see uncertainties for the 2023 origin of that mismatch. MCA 45-8-322(4): the sheriff 'may require an applicant to submit the applicant's fingerprints, and may charge the applicant $5 for fingerprinting. A renewal does not require repeat fingerprinting.' MCA 45-8-322(5) lets the sheriff retain permit, background and fingerprinting fees to implement 45-8-321 through 45-8-324. THE SEPARATE OPTIONAL ENHANCED PERMIT COSTS $75 AND ALSO RUNS 5 YEARS: MCA 45-8-312(11) - 'The fee for issuance of an enhanced permit is $75. The fee for an enhanced permit must be paid to the county sheriff. The county sheriff shall forward the appropriate amount of the fee to the department of justice to cover the costs of background checks and fingerprinting'; MCA 45-8-312(1) - 'The permit is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance and may be renewed pursuant to subsection (6).' The statute does not state a separate dollar figure for enhanced RENEWAL (see uncertainties). Individual sheriffs' offices may charge state/FBI background-check pass-through costs; verify with your county.

How to apply

  1. Decide which permit you want. Montana issues TWO concealed weapon permits, and neither is needed merely to carry concealed: the STANDARD permit under MCA 45-8-321 ($50, initial term 5 years, age 18, no hour count, no live fire, fingerprints at the sheriff's discretion) and the OPTIONAL ENHANCED permit under MCA 45-8-312 ($75, 5 years, age 21 or a temporary restricted permit at 18-20, mandatory fingerprints, and a law-enforcement-approved handgun course including at least 98 rounds of live fire within the preceding 12 months). Both are applied for through your county sheriff, and both confer identical privileges inside Montana; the enhanced permit exists mainly to satisfy other states' training and vetting prerequisites when you travel.
  2. Confirm eligibility for the standard permit: U.S. citizen or permanent lawful resident, 18 or older, Montana resident for at least 6 months, and holder of a valid Montana driver's license or other state-issued photo ID (MCA 45-8-321(1)).
  3. Obtain the application from the sheriff's office in your county of residence. MCA 45-8-322(1) requires the form to be 'readily available at the sheriff's office' and prescribes its exact statutory content. There is no statewide online application portal; contact your county sheriff directly. The Montana DOJ does publish a SAMPLE of the statutory form as a PDF, but it is captioned 'This application is for informational purposes only. Contact your local sheriff's office to obtain a formal permit application, which must be in triplicate.'
  4. Complete the form, which asks for full name and aliases, home and employer address and phone, place and date of birth, driver's license or state or tribal ID number and issuing state or tribal government, Social Security number (expressly OPTIONAL in the statutory text at MCA 45-8-322(1)), physical description, every employer or business for the last 5 years, every place lived for the last 5 years, military service branch, dates, discharge type and rank, arrest/conviction and court-martial history (minor traffic violations excepted), three persons known at least 5 years who will be credible witnesses to your good moral character and peaceable disposition and who are not relatives or present/past employers, and your reasons for requesting the permit.
  5. Gather proof of firearms familiarity under MCA 45-8-321(3): a hunter education or firearms safety course certificate, a law enforcement course certificate, an out-of-state carry license issued on the strength of such a course, or evidence of military firearms qualification. A photocopy of the certificate, an instructor affidavit, or any other verifiable completion document creates a presumption of compliance (45-8-321(4)). Alternatively, if you and the sheriff agree, you may take a hands-on physical familiarity test instead (45-8-321(5)).
  6. Sign the application in the presence of the sheriff or a designee - the statutory form requires this - and file it with the sheriff. The application is in triplicate: you are given the original at the time the completed application is filed, the sheriff keeps a copy for at least 4 years, and within 7 days of receipt a copy must be mailed to the chief of police if you reside in a city or town with a police force (MCA 45-8-322(2)).
  7. Pay the $50 issuance fee (MCA 45-8-322(3)).
  8. Submit fingerprints IF your sheriff requires them. MCA 45-8-322(4) makes this discretionary: the sheriff 'may require an applicant to submit the applicant's fingerprints, and may charge the applicant $5 for fingerprinting.' Practice varies by county, so ask yours. Fingerprints are not repeated at renewal. Fingerprints ARE mandatory for the optional enhanced permit (MCA 45-8-312(2)(a)-(b)), which requires a copy of the applicant's fingerprints for submission to the FBI for a state, national and international criminal background check plus written authorization to run it.
  9. The sheriff conducts a background check to determine whether you are eligible under MCA 45-8-321 and must issue within 60 days of filing (MCA 45-8-321(1), 45-8-322(4)). All information on the application is confidential and the sheriff must treat it as confidential criminal justice information under Title 44, chapter 5 (MCA 45-8-322(7)). No state or local law enforcement agency or other agency, officer or employee may request a permittee to volunteer information beyond what the application and permit require (45-8-322(6)).
  10. Receive the permit. You are given the original; the sheriff keeps a copy and sends a copy to the Department of Justice, which keeps a central repository record of all permits (MCA 45-8-322(3)). The permit must state that federal and state laws on possession of firearms and other weapons differ and that a person who violates federal law may be prosecuted in federal court and the Montana permit will not be a defense.
  11. If denied, request the sheriff's written statement of reasonable cause (MCA 45-8-321(2)) and appeal under MCA 45-8-324.
  12. RENEWAL (standard permit): apply to the sheriff within the 90 days before expiration, with a 30-day grace period after expiration, and pay $25. Each renewal runs 4 years - note that only the INITIAL permit is 5 years (MCA 45-8-321(1) versus MCA 45-8-322(3)). A lost permit is replaced as a renewal. A decision to deny a renewal must be made within 60 days (MCA 45-8-323). RENEWAL (enhanced permit): the renewal window opens 180 days before expiration and closes 30 days after it; you must pass a criminal background check and show that you completed the live fire component of a qualifying handgun course during the renewal period, or that you are a current or former law enforcement officer who qualified or requalified within the preceding 12 months (MCA 45-8-312(6)). If you miss that window the enhanced permit is deemed invalid and you must apply afresh and meet all initial requirements (45-8-312(7)).

Apply on the official Montana site

What disqualifies you

Where to get the required training

Montana does not publish a central list of certified instructors. Confirm directly with County sheriff of the applicant's county of residence (Montana Department of Justice keeps the central repository of permits and publishes the AG's recognized-states list) that a course will be accepted before you pay for it.

Reciprocity

Carrying into Montana

Montana recognizes permits from 43 other jurisdictions.

Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming

33 jurisdictions honor a Montana permit

Derived from what each of those states officially publishes.

Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming

Official Montana reciprocity page Full reciprocity matrix →

Building your own in Montana

Build for personal use
Allowed
Serial number required
No

Montana law permits building a firearm for personal use. There is no Montana statute prohibiting private manufacture, and no Montana statute requiring a serial number, state registration, or a background check for a self-made firearm. MCA 30-20-104, verified verbatim 2026-09-15, expressly contemplates 'A personal firearm, a firearm accessory, or ammunition that is manufactured commercially or privately in Montana and that remains within the borders of Montana,' and declares such an item 'is not subject to federal law or federal regulation, including registration, under the authority of congress to regulate interstate commerce.' The Act reaches only items 'manufactured in Montana from basic materials' that 'can be manufactured without the inclusion of any significant parts imported from another state,' and declares that 'basic materials, such as unmachined steel and unshaped wood,' are not firearms. MCA 30-20-105 carves out (1) a firearm that cannot be carried and used by one person, (2) a firearm with a bore diameter greater than 1 1/2 inches using smokeless rather than black powder, (3) ammunition with a projectile that explodes by chemical energy after leaving the firearm, and (4) a firearm that discharges two or more projectiles with one activation of the trigger. MCA 30-20-106 imposes the Act's only marking requirement - and it is a marking, not a serial number: 'A firearm manufactured or sold in Montana under this part must have the words "Made in Montana" clearly stamped on a central metallic part, such as the receiver or frame.' A full review of MCA Title 45, ch. 8, part 3 found no provision criminalizing an unserialized or self-manufactured firearm. Montana's separate weapon crimes remain applicable regardless of who made the gun: MCA 45-8-313 (possession of firearm by convicted person), 45-8-334 (destructive device), 45-8-336/337 (silencers), and 45-8-340 (sawed-off firearm). CRITICAL FEDERAL CAVEAT - NOW VERIFIED FROM THE COURT'S OWN OPINION: the Montana Firearms Freedom Act has been held preempted and invalid. In Montana Shooting Sports Association v. Holder, No. 10-36094 (9th Cir., filed August 23, 2013), the Ninth Circuit affirmed dismissal of the MFFA challenge for failure to state a claim. The published opinion (Clifton, J.; Bea, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part) holds that although plaintiff Gary Marbut had standing on account of economic injury, the complaint 'failed to state a claim in light of Gonzales v. Raich, 545 U.S. 1 (2005), and United States v. Stewart, 451 F.3d 1071 (9th Cir. 2006), and that Congress could rationally conclude that unlicensed firearms made in Montana would make their way into the interstate market. The panel held that the MFFA was necessarily preempted and invalid.' The conclusion reads: 'Though we conclude that plaintiff Gary Marbut has standing, we affirm the dismissal of the action for failure to state a claim. AFFIRMED.' Federal law governs privately made firearms independently of the MFFA - the National Firearms Act, the federal prohibition on manufacturing for sale without a license, the federal undetectable-firearms statute (18 U.S.C. 922(p)), and ATF marking and 'firearm frame or receiver' rules. DO NOT treat MCA 30-20-104 as a shield against federal prosecution; a federal court of appeals has squarely held that it is not.

MCA 30-20-101 through 30-20-106 (Montana Firearms Freedom Act); MCA Title 45, ch. 8, part 3 (Weapons) contains no serialization or registration requirement

Federal law, gunsmithing schools, and tools →

Statutes

What we could not confirm

  • MINIMUM AGE FOR PERMITLESS CARRY IS NOT STATED IN THE STATUTE. MCA 45-8-316(3) exempts 'a person eligible to possess a firearm under state or federal law' and sets no age. I recorded 18 because federal 18 U.S.C. 922(x) generally bars handgun possession by persons under 18, but that federal statute has express exceptions (for example, temporary possession by a 16- or 17-year-old with written parental consent for employment, ranching, farming, target practice, or hunting), and Montana's own MCA 45-8-344 only restricts firearm use by children under 14. Whether a person under 18 could lawfully carry a concealed handgun in Montana in one of those narrow circumstances is a genuinely unsettled question that I could not resolve from any Montana primary source. Anyone under 18 should consult a Montana attorney and their county sheriff before relying on this.
  • THE STANDARD PERMIT'S TERM IS ASYMMETRIC - 5 YEARS INITIAL, 4 YEARS PER RENEWAL - AND I NOW KNOW WHERE THAT CAME FROM, BUT NOT WHETHER IT WAS INTENDED. MCA 45-8-321(1) says the permit 'is valid for 5 years from the date of issuance,' while MCA 45-8-322(3) says it 'must be renewed for additional 4-YEAR periods.' I traced the mismatch to the 2023 session: an Internet Archive capture of the official MCA page taken 2022-09-01 shows the pre-2023 text of 45-8-321(1) read 'valid for 4 years,' and the only substantive difference between that text and today's is the 4-to-5 change, introduced by 'amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 474, L. 2023.' The renewal period in 45-8-322(3) was left at 4 years. So the asymmetry is real and current, but I found no official gloss reconciling the two subsections and no legislative statement that the split term was deliberate. validityYears is set to 5 because that is the initial term a first-time applicant receives. Renewals appear to run 4 years. Because the Internet Archive went offline partway through this session I could not also retrieve a pre-2023 capture of 45-8-322 to prove its renewal period was untouched in 2023, so treat the 'left at 4 years' inference as one step short of fully verified - the CURRENT 4-year renewal text is verified directly from the live official page.
  • FINGERPRINTS ARE SHERIFF-DISCRETIONARY FOR THE STANDARD PERMIT, NOT UNIFORMLY REQUIRED. I set fingerprintsRequired to false because MCA 45-8-322(4) says the sheriff 'MAY require' fingerprints. That is a statement about state law, not about your county. Actual practice varies county by county and I could not survey all 56 Montana county sheriffs. Fingerprints ARE mandatory for the optional enhanced permit under MCA 45-8-312(2)(a)-(b).
  • NO STATE-CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR REGISTRY EXISTS, so instructorRegistryUrl is null. Montana does not license or certify concealed-weapon instructors. MCA 45-8-321(3) instead accepts courses from Fish, Wildlife and Parks, out-of-state equivalents, national firearms associations, law enforcement agencies, and institutions of higher education. Enhanced-permit courses must be 'approved by a law enforcement agency' under 45-8-312(5), and that approval is made agency by agency. I re-searched the Montana DOJ site's own index on 2026-09-15 and found no consolidated state list of approved courses, approved instructors, or approving agencies.
  • THE MONTANA DOJ PUBLISHES NOTHING AT ALL ABOUT THE ENHANCED PERMIT. Searching the dojmt.gov content index on 2026-09-15 returned exactly one concealed-weapons page, and it describes only permitless carry and the standard MCA 45-8-321 permit. Every enhanced-permit figure in this record ($75, 5 years, age 21, mandatory prints, 98 rounds of live fire, the 180-day renewal window) therefore rests on the statutory text of MCA 45-8-312 alone, with no agency guidance, no application form, and no fee schedule from the state to corroborate it. An applicant should expect county-by-county variation in how the enhanced permit is administered and should ask the sheriff directly which local law enforcement agency approves qualifying handgun courses.
  • THE ENHANCED PERMIT'S RENEWAL FEE IS NOT STATED IN STATUTE. MCA 45-8-312(11) sets the issuance fee at $75 and 45-8-312(6) sets out the renewal requirements (background check plus repeated live fire) without naming a dollar amount, and 45-8-322(3)'s $25 renewal fee is written for the standard permit. I could find no primary source stating what an enhanced renewal costs, so no enhanced renewal figure is recorded. Ask your county sheriff.
  • THE DOJ PAGE STATES THE GOVERNMENT-BUILDING RULE MORE NARROWLY THAN THE STATUTE DOES, AND THE CONFLICT MATTERS TO VISITORS. The DOJ page says: 'Montana law allows any person to conceal carry a weapon in state government office or state building, but only if that person is the holder of a current, valid MONTANA concealed weapon permit.' The statutes are broader: MCA 45-8-328(1) exempts 'a person issued a permit pursuant to 45-8-321 or 45-8-312 or a person recognized pursuant to 45-8-329,' and MCA 45-8-356 extends its statewide protection to a permit 'issued pursuant to 45-8-321 or 45-8-312 or recognized pursuant to 45-8-329.' On the statutory text, a holder of a recognized out-of-state permit is covered; on the DOJ page's wording, only a Montana permit holder is. The statute controls, but I could not find any official reconciliation, and a visitor relying on a recognized out-of-state permit in a restricted portion of a Montana government office building is exposed to an officer who is following the agency's own published summary. Anyone in that position should verify with the specific building's authority or the county sheriff first.
  • COUNTY AND LOCAL VARIATION IS REAL AND NOT CAPTURED HERE. MCA 45-8-351(2)(a) expressly preserves local authority to 'prevent and suppress the carrying of unpermitted concealed weapons or the carrying of unconcealed weapons to a publicly owned and occupied building under its jurisdiction,' and the DOJ page instructs readers to 'check local regulations' and notes that 'County sheriffs can provide information on where concealed weapons are prohibited in their counties.' I did not survey local ordinances. A permitless carrier in particular should verify local rules before entering any government building.
  • TRIBAL LANDS ARE NOT ADDRESSED by any source I reviewed. Montana contains seven federally recognized reservations, and tribal law may impose separate firearms restrictions that neither MCA Title 45 nor the DOJ page speaks to. MCA 45-8-322(3) and the DOJ sample application do recognize tribal identification cards as acceptable ID for the permit itself, but that says nothing about where tribal law permits carry.
  • NO 2026 MONTANA LEGISLATIVE ACTIVITY WAS FOUND, BUT I VERIFIED THIS INDIRECTLY. The edition served at mca.legmt.gov is 'Montana Code Annotated 2025,' the current official edition, and the Montana Legislature meets in regular session only in odd-numbered years, so no regular 2026 session has amended these statutes. A web search for a 2026 special session touching firearms returned nothing. I did not, however, find a primary legislative source affirmatively confirming that no 2026 special session occurred, so that rests on the absence of evidence rather than on a positive source.
  • THE SUPREME COURT'S DISPOSITION OF MSSA v. HOLDER IS NOT VERIFIED FROM A PRIMARY SOURCE. I verified the Ninth Circuit's published opinion directly from the court's own PDF (No. 10-36094, filed Aug. 23, 2013, affirming dismissal and holding the MFFA 'necessarily preempted and invalid'). Secondary reporting says the Supreme Court then denied review, and I have no reason to doubt it, but I did not retrieve a Supreme Court order or docket entry confirming the denial, so the record asserts only the Ninth Circuit holding.

Sources